Tales and tall stories…

My 1st SPR Tuesday Ride

Well this morning I made the early rise to attempt my first SPR Tuesday morning ride. Somehow Toby had talked me into giving up a few hours of good sleep, for a few hard hours on the bike. What was I thinking….??

Anyway I woke to the 1st alarm and jumped out of bed to get ready, and headed out the to meet Toby on the way. It was a nice morning, not yet too hot with the sun still rising and a gentle breeze off the river. We got there on time and waited for others to arrive and Toby introduced me to Mino & Mike before we headed off. The pace started fairly ok along Mounts Bay Rd (where I remembered I should start the 705, I always seem to forget to hit start) averaging about 35km/hr.

Soon we were heading thru the back of Crawley & Dalkeith (you know, where the other half lives along Jutland Parade). This i where we hit the first hill, and we all know I hate hills (improving). I kept good contact with the group but dropped a lil way off, but soon caught up, but as we continued the upwards slant i slowly dropped back a few 100m. I kept everyone in site along the Pepermint Grove waterfront but as Mosman Hill approached, most disappeared up there like rockets. Needless to say they were waiting for me at the regroup point up the top, thankfully I didn’t hold them up too long.

The group contunied on to Freo at a good speed and we enjoyed a bit of the ocean view. As we went over the river my rear slipped into one of the expansion gaps and may have been the beginning of damage to the rear wheel. At the time thinking nothing of a lil bump it was ignored. We headed thru East Freo and around the back of the Defence Barracks and up to Point Walter, this is where I got spat out the back again (and didn’t get back on), but did have a few other SPR riders out and about pass by.

From here I continued at my own pace and took in some of the view of the wonderful Swan River, trying to push my average speed back up to 30km/hr after it dropped on the hills (we use that term losely around the city). Heading along the Applecross foreshore is where I got the 1st indication something was wrong. Something in the back wheel started clicking and twanging away, I stopped pedalling briefly thinking it was a twig or similar and when I started pedaling again it was gone so left it at that. Soon after though it came back and with more avengance. This time I stopped to have a look and found a spoke hanging out the side of the rear wheel & hitting eveything on its way around. I pulled it out and assessed the situation, it didn’t look to bad and there was no other damage, so continued on my way taking it a little easier especially over bumps. These road wheels just arn’t like my MTB ones. Riding on, the only thing I could think of was I broke the spoke nipple back on the bridge when I dropped in the gap, who really knows…??

Heading thru Applecross I also came across Gus & Lennie on the side of the road. Gus had flatted & they were repairing it. They had things under control so I kept going. The rest of the trip was pretty routine up the Freeway PSP, its busy at that time of morning with commuters & other cyclists out for the mornign ride. I saw a few regulars from the SPR sat ride and also past Durx on his way to work, can’t miss him with his Pink Giro jersey.

I dropped by Atomic as I came thru South Perth to let the others know I was done and wish all a Merry Christmas, it was good to hear Lorraine had remained upright for this trip and there were no other spills either. From here I headed home to prepare for the work day ahead, which included a nice plate of scrambled eggs on toast to refuel.

As the first attempt for me of the SPR Tuesday ride I was happy with the effort. I had set a slighty ambishious average of 30km/hr and came in at 27.3, so not too far off, few more rides and i’ll be there. Its a nice scenic route around the river, taking in many of the richer suburbs with spectacular views of the river & cityscape. All in all a great way to start the day.

Route Stats

2 responses

  1. Toby

    ha ha Scotty has a broken nipple!

    22 December, 2009 at 13:22

  2. Great ride report and you have me thinking I might come along for a mid-week ride or two 🙂

    Andrew

    24 December, 2009 at 22:51

Leave a Reply

